Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Sonic Cathedrals Vol. LXX
Curated by Hooded Menace

CVLT Nation is fucking way stoked that Sonic Cathedrals Vol. LXX Curated by Hooded Menace goes live today! Lasse, their guitarist, did the honors and selected all of the songs you are about to hear. He wrote an in-depth introduction on why he picked these tunes below. I will say that this volume rocks & is some bonafide classic material!!!

Here’re some of the songs that were in hard rotation in my room’s tape deck or vinyl player from early 80’s to late 80’s. Of course I still listen to all this stuff. As much I might liked to be a couple of years younger, I’m happy I grew up in the 80’s during the most exciting era of heavy metal. This mixtape is my musical upbringing in a nutshell and I’m glad to share it with you although many of my choices are quite obvious. I included some of the first rock songs I remember getting into like “Jailhouse Rock” by Elvis and “Anarchy in the UK” by the punks of Sex Pistols. Hassisen Kone, the best Finnish rock band of all time, was also extremely important. They even came from my sleepy hometown! Amazing!! Stray Cats were probably the first band I can say I was a really big fan of, so naturally they’re included as well. I tried to put the tracks more or less in chronological order at least up to the days when tharsh metal came in the picture.

Lasse / Hooded Menace

Stream Sonic Cathedrals Vol. LXX Curated by Hooded Menace
[audio: Jailhouse Rock.mp3, Anarchy in the UK.mp3, Julkinen Elain.mp3, Storm The Embassy.mp3, Detroit Rock City.mp3, The Torture Never Stops.mp3, Deep In The Hole.mp3, Die With Your Boots On.mp3, The Last in Line.mp3, Blood Of My Enemies.mp3, Metal On Metal.mp3, Back In The Fire.mp3, Ride the Lightning.mp3, God Saved The Queen.mp3, Madhouse.mp3, Id Rather Be Sleeping.mp3, Kill Again.mp3, Dog Bite.mp3, Seance.mp3, Aggravated.mp3, Behind The Mirror.mp3, Clean and Jerk.mp3, Born Dead.mp3, You Broke My Heart (So I Broke Your Face).mp3, Bodies on Bodies.mp3, Scattered By The Wind.mp3, Lucid Fairytale.mp3, Demons Gate.mp3, Parricide.mp3, Suffocation.mp3|titles=Sonic Cathedrals Vol. LXX Curated by Hooded Menace]

DOWNLOAD Sonic Cathedrals Vol. LXX Curated by Hooded Menace HERE!

Sonic Cathedrals Vol. LXX Curated by Hooded Menace TRACKLIST
1. Jailhouse Rock – Elvis Presley
2. Anarchy in the UK – Sex Pistols
3. Julkinen Eläin – Hassisen Kone
4. Storm the Embassy – Stray Cats
5. Detroit Rock City – Kiss
6. The Torture Never Stops – W.A.S.P.
7. Deep in a Hole – AD/DC
8. Die with Your Boots on – Iron Maiden
9. The Last in Line – Dio
10. Blood of My Enemies – Manowar
11. Metal on Metal – Anvil
12. Back in the Fire – Tarot
13. Ride the Lightning – Metallica
14. God Save the Queen – The Exploited
15. Madhouse – Anthrax
16. I´d Rather Be Sleeping – D.R.I.
17. Kill Again – Slayer
18. Dog Bite – Dead Kennedys
19. Seance – Possessed
20. Aggravated – Cryptic Slaughter
21. Behind the Mirror – Kreator
22. Clean and Jerk – Adrenalin O.D.
23. Born Dead – Death
24. You Broke My Heart (So I Broke Your Face) – Wehrmacht
25. Bodies on Bodies – Vio-Lence
26. Scattered by the Wind – Deathrow
27. Lucid Fairytale – Napalm Death
28. Demon´s Gate – Candlemass
29. Paricide – Pestilence
30. Suffocation – Morbid Angel



  1. Juhis

    July 29, 2012 at 3:24 am

    Awesome that Lassi included some finnish music also, referring to Hassisen Kone. This is awesome, really nostalgic list, I’m having a lot of fun listening to this.

  2. Jon

    July 27, 2012 at 11:20 am

    You & I must be the same age because you basically posted my entire 80’s record collection! Putting WASP, Cryptic Slaughter, and AOD in the same mix – brilliant! This is the best & most honest Sonic Cathedral yet.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like


via Lazer Horse There’s nothing funny about death really. But there is a lot of certainty to it. There’s not a person who’s ever...

Black Metal

During the first year of CVLT Nation, I was turned on to this unreal band from Wales called GHAST. Their release Terrible Cemetery was...

Black Metal

More Chaos! More Fury! More Rancid Riffs! only begins to tell you how CVLT Nation’s Blackened Everything Vol. IX is going to get you...


By Sascha via Behold The Blessed Wax Trial – Moments Of Collapse LP, 1986 This is not a write up about the Straight Edge...

Copyright © 2020 ZoxPress Theme. Theme by MVP Themes, powered by WordPress.